Zatik consiglia:
Iniziativa Culturale:



09 05 2007 - .....Djanbazian and Backhausdance companies and Francisco Martinez.
LA TIMES-May 7, 2007,0,2124548.htmlstory?coll=cl-stage-features
Southland troupes to receive Lester Horton Dance Awards Recipients of the annual Lester Horton Awards include the Djanbazian and Backhausdance companies and Francisco Martinez.

By Lynne Heffley , Times Staff Writer, Times Staff Writer
The 16th annual Lester Horton Dance Awards, "Milestones — Los Angeles Dance," announced Sunday, honored an eclectic mix of companies, with an emphasis on contemporary works.

Presented by the Dance Resource Center of Greater Los Angeles and named after the locally based modern dance pioneer, the awards recognize excellence in all genres of concert dance in Southern California.

Outstanding achievement by a company went to the Djanbazian Dance Company for its multidisciplinary drama "Rumi: Path to Enlightenment," choreographed by artistic director Anna Djanbazian and inspired by the 13th century relationship between a wandering dervish and a Sufi mystic.

Jennifer Backhaus and her Orange County-based contemporary ensemble, Backhausdance, received awards for four separate works, including a short-form choreography nod for Backhaus' Latin ballroom-inspired "Love and Other Possibilities" and a revival, reconstruction, restaging award for her "Disintegration," 2001.

The award for long-form choreography went to Francisco Martinez of the veteran Francisco Martinez Dancetheatre for "Té Verde."

In the category of music for dance, "Synergy," a program of premieres by the contemporary ensembles Regina Klenjoski Dance Company and Trip Dance Theatre, earned honors for composers Ron Bartlett, Charlie Campagna and Moira Smiley.

Special awards, previously announced, were given to Andrei Tremaine, a choreographer and former Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo dancer; choreographer and dance historian Allegra Fuller Snyder; the late Alfred Desio, creator of the Colburn Kids Tap Ensemble and Zapped Taps; and Ann Haskins, dance writer for LA Weekly.

Also acknowledged were dance companies with 25 years or more of continuous professional participation in performance, leadership and service to the Los Angeles community.

The list of winners:

Choreography, long form: Francisco Martinez ("Té Verde 'Danza Brasileira' "), Francisco Martinez Dancetheatre

Choreography, short form: Jennifer Backhaus ("Love and Other Impossibilities"), Backhausdance

Performance, company: Djanbazian Dance Company ("Rumi: Path to Enlightenment")

Performance, male: Carlos Rodriguez ("La Hora de Salir"), Oni Dance

Performance female: Jean Michelle Sayeg ("Té Verde"), Martinez Dancetheatre

Production of a festival or series: Jamie Nichols ("Celebrate Dance 2006," Alex Theatre)

Performance, small ensemble: Andrea Brache, Andrew Cook and William Lu ("eXit" ), Backhausdance

Music for dance: Ron Bartlett, Charlie Campagna and Moira Smiley ("Synergy"), Trip Dance Theatre and Regina Klenjoski Dance Company

Costume design: Elias Roldan ("Arriba Jalisco: A Gritos"), Grandeza Mexicana Folk Ballet Company

Set design: Brock Cilley ("The Cage"), Marie de la Palme, choreographer and dancer

Lighting design: Monique L'Heureux ("La Jupe") Backhausdance

Revival, reconstruction, restaging: Jennifer Backhaus ("Disintegration," 2001)


Il sito è curato dall'Arch. Vahé Vartanian e dal Dott. Enzo Mainardi;
© Zatik - Powered by Akmé S.r.l.